Awele Creative Trust Announces 2023 Shortlist

  • Post author:
You are currently viewing Awele Creative Trust Announces 2023 Shortlist

Shortlisted writers and titles have emerged for the Awele Creative Trust (ACT) Award 2023. The Prize announced this in a post on X (formerly known as Twitter). The series of tweets said that the task of selecting a shortlist from a really strong longlist posed a significant challenge to the judges.

The shortlisted writers and titles are as follows:

  • Chideraa Ike-Akaenyi for ‘The Moulting’
  • PamelaErhiakeme for ‘Body Art, Tiger Stripes’
  • Olayinka Yaqub for ‘The Weight of Duty’
  • Favour Ahuchaogu for ‘The Mary Who Was Your Friend’
  • Chidera Solomon Anikpe for ‘A Eulogy For Happy Girls’

More from the official announcement:

“Each story offered a unique perspective, as well as its own distinctive voice, in what is a testament to the richness of talent in Nigeria. Literature serves as both a sanctuary and a mirror. It reflects our collective experiences, our frustrations, our triumphs, and our dreams. The works on this shortlist have the power to provoke and further conversations on some of the pressing social issues of 21st-century Nigeria. We are delighted to celebrate these five stories as we commemorate a milestone 10th anniversary. Each shortlisted writer wins N20,000.”

A winner will be announced in April, 2024.

Congratulations to all shortlistees!