The 2024 Afritondo Short Story Prize Shortlist

  • Post author:
You are currently viewing The 2024 Afritondo Short Story Prize Shortlist

The shortlist for the 2024 Afritondo Short Story Prize is here, with the longlist whittled down to only five writers.

The shortlisted writers (country and story title in bracket) are as follows:

  • Khetani Michael Banda (Zimbabwe, Minus)
  • Ufuoma Kwale (Nigeria, Countdown to Forever)
  • Cynthia Kistasamy (South Africa, The Beach House)
  • mwĩhaki mũragũri (Kenya, Longing)
  • Sabah Carrim (Mauritius, Fading Mehndi)

A statement from the Prize said: The judging panel had a difficult task selecting from a pool of exceptional entries. Each story on the longlist showcased immense talent and captivated the judges with its unique voice and narrative.

“The shortlisted writers represent the diverse landscape of African literature and offer a thrilling glimpse into the future of storytelling.”

The winner of the 2024 Prize will be announced later in April.

Congratulations to all shortlistees!