Writers of African Descent Dominate 2024 Jhalak Prize Longlists

  • Post author:
You are currently viewing Writers of African Descent Dominate 2024 Jhalak Prize Longlists

The longlists for two categories of the 2024 Jhalak Prize are out, and they are populated with writers of African descent.

As judged by Anni Domingo, Stella Oni, and Denise Saul, The Jhalak Prize 2024 longlist features Leila Aboulela, Nii Ayikwwei Parkes, Caleb Azumah Nelson, Elizabeth Jane Burnett, Jacqueline Crooks, and Yepoka Yeebo. The jury for The Jhalak C&YA Longlist 2024 are Danielle Jawando, J. P. Rose, and Rashmi Sirdeshpande, and the longlist includes Maria Montunrayo Adebisi, Diana Anyakwo, Amanda Quartey, Benjamin Dean, and George the Poet.

The prize was established in 2016 by Sunny Singh and Nikesh Shukla as an annual literary award given to British or British-resident BAME (Black, Asian, and Minority Ethnic) writers. The prize was expanded in 2020 to include a category for writers of children and YA books. Previous winners include Jacob Ross, Reni Eddo-Lodge, Guy Gunaratne, Johny Pitts, Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi, Patrice Lawrence, and Travis Alabanza.

The 2024 longlist announcement had the following statement: “Delighted to announce the longlists for Jhalak Prize 2024. Each of these books is a literary gem, to be admired, loved, and treasured forever. Our immense gratitude to the writers, creatives, publishers for bringing us this treasure trove!”

The shortlist will be announced on 18 April 2024, followed by the winner announcement on 30 May 2024.