The Quramo Writers’ Prize 2024 Calls For Submissions

You are currently viewing The Quramo Writers’ Prize 2024 Calls For Submissions

The Quramo Writers’ Prize is now accepting submissions for its 8th edition, inviting unpublished African writers from around the world to participate.

Established in 2017, the prize aims to provide a platform for emerging writers to showcase their manuscripts to the global literary community and contribute to the canon of African literature. It recognizes the efforts of unpublished writers who are dedicated to honing their craft and preserving Africa’s unique stories.

Past winners include Samuel Monye (2017), Michael Emmanuel (2018), Vivian Onyekachi Ibe (2019), Kadiri Alex (2020), Akinnimi Akintomiwa Oluwaseun (2021), Ibrahim Babátúndé Ibrahim (2022), and Chiziterem Chijioke (2023).

Submission Guidelines:

  • The fiction prose manuscript must be the original, unpublished work of the entrant and in English. Published work is not eligible for the prize.
  • Short story collections, plays, and poetry are not eligible.
  • Manuscripts must contain a minimum of 30,000 words.
  • All entrants must be 16 years of age and above.
  • All entries must be submitted through the submissions portal on the official Quramo website in the following format: Times New Roman font type, MS Word format, Font Size 12, Left justified, Double line spacing, Page numbers on each page.

All submissions must be sent in with the following information: A one-page synopsis, A short personal biography of 100 words max. (in third person POV), Social media profiles (Twitter, Instagram, and LinkedIn), Full (legal) name, Physical address, Email address, Phone number. 

This prize is open to unpublished authors Nigerian and African writers worldwide, with the winner receiving an award worth 1million naira in cash prize.

Submissions close on Friday 31 May, 2024.

To submit your application, kindly click here.


Bakare Oluwatobiloba

I write to educate, motivate and define history with literature. Just being me!