Lunaris Announces The Toyin Fálọlá Prize Longlist 2024

You are currently viewing Lunaris Announces The Toyin Fálọlá Prize Longlist 2024

Lunaris (Publisher of Lunaris Review and Organizer of Toyin Fálọlá Prize) has unveiled the Toyin Fálọlá prize longlist 2024 edition.

Lunaris is a leading literary platform that is devoted to the cultivation and celebration of African literature. They produce stories in African voices and those that capture African experience and produce new editions to bring out contemporary and efficient writing all across the African continent. Lunaris have held a great reputation for their publishing work, as well as being the organizers of the Toyin Falola Prize awarding the very best literary talent and celebrating the storytelling ethos of Africa. With its Initiatives, the aim of Lunaris is to excise the voice of Africa expurgating the pretentious names in a place that is home to voices that will form indelible imprints in the global literary space.

This year’s selection highlights nine exceptional works that exemplify literary excellence all over Africa. From Tanzania, Nigeria and Kenya:

  • “Fibers From The Deep” by Divine Inyang Titus
  • “Liquid Gold” by Osieka Osinimu Alao
  • “The Blood We Tie” by Immaculate Halla
  • “The Harvester’s Commandment” by Mohammed Haruna
  • “Dan Maliyo” by Shedrach Opeyemi Akanbi
  • “To Live Between Names” by Isaac Kilibwa
  • “A Place Like Here” by Milio Mpondo
  • “SOS” by Fatima Okhuosami
  • “The Recrudescence” by Nwafor Emmanuel

Named after Professor Toyin Fálọlá who is the Jacob and Frances Sanger Mossiker Chair in the Humanities and a Distinguished Teaching Professor at the University of Texas at Austin, The Toyin Fálọlá Prize honors the legacy of Toyin Fálọlá, a globally celebrated historian, author, and academic leader whose extensive work on Africa and the African Diaspora has defined various fields and inspired numerous critical works. With over one hundred and sixty books to his name and numerous accolades, including eleven honorary doctorates, the prize aims to celebrate and encourage literary excellence that reflects the richness and diversity of African experiences.

Congratulations longlisted Africans!


Bakare Oluwatobiloba

I write to educate, motivate and define history with literature. Just being me!