Kikwetu Announces Flash Fiction Contest Winner for 2023

You are currently viewing Kikwetu Announces Flash Fiction Contest Winner for 2023

Isaac Kilibwa was crowned as the overall winner of the 2023 Kikwetu Flash Fiction Contest for his work titled, Cul-de-sac.

Isaac will receive a $150 cash prize in addition to his story being published in issue 9 of Kikwetu.

Along with Isaac’s work, those who made the finalist will have their stories published as well. Here are the finalists in no particular order:

Dead Skin by Florence Onyango

Akara by Chinaza James-Ibe

OHÀHÀ’NYI by Abdulrahaman Adeiza Jimoh

A Basket Full of Spilled Water by Chiemeziem Everest Udochukwu

Born out of the Nairobi-based writing group in 2015, Kikwetu is an annual online literary journal that publishes both new and established writers from East Africa and beyond in English and Swahili.  

To read more on the Flash Fiction Contest, visit their website on

Congratulations to Isaac and the talented authors who made the longlist and final list!

Bongiwe T. Maphosa

Bongiwe T. Maphosa

Bongiwe Maphosa is a budding author with a passion for storytelling. With her thought-provoking narratives, she takes her readers on a literary adventure. Bongiwe's works on the human condition from a fresh perspective have earned her recognition and publications in the Avbob Poetry Anthology of 2019, The Writer's Club of South Africa 2021, and JAY Lit in 2021. She hopes to cement her place in the literary community.