Introducing the African Nominees for The 2023 Shirley Jackson Awards

You are currently viewing Introducing the African Nominees for The 2023 Shirley Jackson Awards

In compliance with its mission, The Shirley Jackson Awards 2023 nominees for outstanding achievement in horror, psychological suspense, and dark fantasy fiction have been unveiled. Forty five acclaimed authors were nominated for the award out of which four African writers made the list. The African nominees and their works are: 


  • Broken Paradise by Eugen Bacon (Luna Press Publishing)

Short Story

  • “Invasion of the Baby Snatchers” by Lesley Nneka Arimah (Out There Screaming: An Anthology of New Black Horror)

Single Author Collection

  • Drinking from Graveyard Wells: Stories by Yvette Lisa Ndlovu (University Press of Kentucky)
  • Jackal, Jackal: Tales of the Dark and Fantastic by Tobi Ogundiran (Undertow Publications)

The Shirley Jackson Awards are literary awards named after Shirley Jackson in recognition of her legacy in writing. These awards for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror and dark fantasy are presented at Readercon, an annual conference on imaginative literature. Award-winners are selected by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics and academics, with input from a Board of Advisors.

The awards are given for the best work published in the preceding calendar year in the following categories: Novel, Novella, Novelette, Short Story, Single-Author Collection and Edited Anthology. The first annual Shirley Jackson Awards were presented July 20, 2007, at the Readercon Conference on Imaginative Literature in Burlington, Massachusetts. The jurors were John Langan, Sarah Langan, Paul G. Tremblay and F. Brett Cox, who now forms the Board of Directors along with JoAnn Cox. 

The 2023 Shirley Jackson Awards will be presented in-person on Saturday, July 13 at 8pm at Readercon 33, Conference on Imaginative Literature, in Quincy, Massachusetts.

For more information on the award, click here

Congratulations Eugen, Nneka, Tobi and Lisa!


Bakare Oluwatobiloba

I write to educate, motivate and define history with literature. Just being me!