Eugen Bacon, Ani Kayode Somtochukwu, and Kesha Ajose-Fisher are 2023 Foreword INDIES Finalists

  • Post author:
You are currently viewing Eugen Bacon, Ani Kayode Somtochukwu, and Kesha Ajose-Fisher are 2023 Foreword INDIES Finalists

Foreword Reviews have announced the finalists for the 2023 INDIES Book of the Year Awards and Tanzanian-Australian writer Eugen Bacon is a finalist in two different categories. The list also features Nigerian writer Ani Kayode Somtochukwu and Nigerian-American writer Kesha Ajose-Fisher.

Foreword Reviews, established in 1998, is a platform dedicated to discovering, reviewing, and sharing works from university and independent publishers. Over 2,400 entries were received for the awards this edition, spanning 55 genres. The finalists were selected by Foreword’s editorial team who would now be considered by teams of librarian and bookseller judges who will select the winners.

INDIES Award Director, Christopher Nesbit said: “I am deeply impressed by the scope and range of books submitted this year. Each Finalist represents a significant contribution to the literary landscape and underscores the crucial role that independent authors and publishers play, ensuring a steady flow of diverse and thought-provoking content. The INDIES not only honors outstanding literary achievements but also helps to qualify and connect these exceptional books with librarians and booksellers alike.”

INDIES Executive Editor, Matt Sutherland said: “Part of the INDIES joy for me is rediscovering so many fantastic books that didn’t get the attention they deserved when first released or were too quickly forgotten. This best of 2023 competition will once again put the spotlight on what makes indie publishing the soul of the book industry.”

Below is the list of categories that feature our African writers and their books:

Literary (Adult Fiction)

  • And Then He Sang a Lullaby, Ani Kayode Somtochukwu (Grove Atlantic)
  • Serengotti, Eugen Bacon (Transit Lounge)

Science Fiction

  • Secondhand Daylight, Eugen Bacon & Andrew Hook (Cosmic Egg)

Short Story

  • No God like the Mother, Kesha Ajose-Fisher (Forest Avenue Press)

Winners in each genre, along with Editor’s Choice Prize winners and Foreword’s Indie Publisher of the Year, will be announced in June 2024.

Congratulations and all the best in the winners announcement to our African finalists!