African Speculative Fiction Society Announces Nommo Awards Shortlist

You are currently viewing African Speculative Fiction Society Announces Nommo Awards Shortlist

The following authors have dazzled the African Speculative Fiction Society (ASFS) with their stories in the realm of speculative fiction and found themselves on the sought after Nommo Award. In no particular order, here are this year’s nominees in their respective categories: 


Bones and Runes – Stephen Embleton

Dazzling – Chikodili Emelumadu

Don’t answer when they call your name – Ukamaka Olisakwe

Shigidi and the Brass Head of Olabufon – Wole Talabi

Vagabonds! – Eloghosa Osunde

Warrior of the Wind – Suyi Davies Okungbowa


Broken Paradise by Eugen Bacon

Land of the Awaiting  Birth by Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki and Joshua Uchenna Omenga

The Lies of the Ajungo by Moses Ose Utomi

Undulation by  Stephen Embleton

Graphic Novel:

Die Strandloper by  Daniël Hugo 

Grimm’s Assistant by Mamode Ogbewele

WindMaker volume 1 by Roye Okupe and artist Sunkanmi Akinboye and colourist Toyin Ajetunmobi. Cover Artist: Godwin Akpan


• “A Name is a Plea and a Prophecy” by Gabrielle Emem Harry

• “Blackwater” Children, Moustapha Mbacké Diop

• “Destiny Delayed” by Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki 

• “Like Stars Daring to Shine” by Somto Ihezue

• “Loom” by Solomon Uhiara

• “My Mother’s Love” by Naomi Eselojor

• “Osimiri” by Chinaza Eziaghighala

• “The Way of Baa’gh” by Cheryl S. Ntumy

The African Speculative Fiction Society (ASFS) is a membership organisation of African writers, editors, comic and graphic artists, and filmmakers in the fields of speculative fiction such as fantasy, science fiction, stories that draw on traditions, horror and philosophical fiction.

The ASFS is home of the Nommo Awards held annually since 2017 with the exception of 2023. 

Members nominate published work for one of The Nommo Awards across four categories: Best Novel, Novella, Short Story, and Graphic Novels.

Winners will be announced on a later date.

Congratulations to all the brilliant writers shortlisted for the award!

Click here to read more on the award.

Bongiwe T. Maphosa

Bongiwe T. Maphosa

Bongiwe Maphosa is a budding author with a passion for storytelling. With her thought-provoking narratives, she takes her readers on a literary adventure. Bongiwe's works on the human condition from a fresh perspective have earned her recognition and publications in the Avbob Poetry Anthology of 2019, The Writer's Club of South Africa 2021, and JAY Lit in 2021. She hopes to cement her place in the literary community.